Lifestyle Politics

Six parties registered with EC

The Election Commission (EC) on Saturday registered six parties, including the Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal and Sajha Party. With the registration of six new parties, the total number of political forces registered with the EC has reached 130.

The RJP-N had applied for party registration a week ago. The RJP-N earlier was protesting against the local level elections, saying its demands were yet to be addressed by the government.

Party registration with the EC has now paved the way for the RJP-N to participate in the third phase of local polls scheduled for September 18 as well as two other rounds of elections to be held before January 21 next year.

But with no constitution amendment in sight, it is not clear whether the RJP-N will participate in the second phase of local elections.

Other parties that were registered on Saturday are Nepali Congress (BP), Dalit Muslim Janashakti Party, Nepal Shanti Kshetra Parishad, Shanghiya Khumbuwan Loktantrik Party.

Source :

Leave a Reply